Religious Orders

Roman Catholic

540 Order of St Benedict (OSB; also Benedictines or Black Monks) 1130-1545 Canons and Nuns of the Gilbertine Order (also Gilbertines) only English founded order and known for its joint male and female monasteries.

1209 Order of Friars Minor (OFM; also Franciscans, Grey Friars)

1212 Order of St Clare (OSC; originally Order of Poor Ladies; also called Poor Clares, Clarisses, Minoresses, or Second Order of Franciscans)

1216 Order of Preachers (OP; also Dominicans, Black Friars),

1226 Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, (OCD; also Carmelites, White Friars)

1256 Augustinian (OSA; also Austin Friars, Augustin Hermits)

1534 Society of Jesus (SJ, also Jesuits)


1905 Society of St Francis (SSF; also Franciscans)

Home Privacy